UPPA's Doctors Honoris causa

Honorary doctorate awarded to Evo Morales Ayma in 2015

The title of Doctor Honoris Causa is one of the most prestigious distinctions awarded by France's higher education institutions. Its purpose is to honour "people of other nationalities in recognition of their distinguished services to Sciences, Humanities and the Arts, to France or to the higher education institution awarding the title".

Since its creation, the University of Pau and the Adour Region has attributed the title of Doctor Honoris Causa to scientists of non-French origin, whose commitment and accomplished works are in line with the spirit of the University.

7 novembre 2015
His Excellency Evo Morales Ayma, President of the Plurinational State of Bolivia (2006-2019).

9 November, 2011
Prof. Marcel POPA, Professor of Chemistry at the "Gheorghe Asachi" Technical University of Iasi (Romania)

2 October, 2007
Dr. Noémi GIRBAL BLACHA, Professor of History at the La Plata and Quilmes universities - Argentina
10 October, 2005
Dr. Bernard PHILOGENE, Professor of the Faculty of Science at the University of Ottawa (Canada)
Prof. Mieczyslaw MAKOSZA, Professor of the Polish Academy of Sciences - University of Warsaw (Poland)
5 May, 2004
Elena PONIATOWSKA, Author (Mexico)
23 October, 2001
Mario VARGAS LLOSA, Author (Peru)
2 February, 1996
Dr. Francisco Javier HERNANDEZ, Professor of French at the University of Valladolid (Spain)
Dr. Jesus Ildefonso DIAZ, Professor of Applied Mathematics at the Complutense University of Madrid (Spain)
9 January, 1996
Dr. Jorge MIRANDA, Professor of Legal and Political Sciences at the University of Lisbon (Portugal)
26 May, 1988
Prof. Cherif BASSIOUNI, Professor of Law at DePaul University, Chicago (USA)